Look Ma, I’ve Hit The Bigtime

July 8, 2008 at 10:54 pm | Posted in Lego Love, The Blog And I | 8 Comments

I’ve just found out from my part-time publicist/ full-time brother that an old movie I made over four years ago for a charity quiz event in NUI Galway was featured in the high quality ad-fest that is Galway First (or “Galway Fir” as the image above suggests, thanks to their seemingly blind graphic designer). Available now for the low, low price of “FREE”, you can find the latest issue in Galway newsagents today.

You can view the latest issue online here. Even though it’s free to pick up a copy in brick and mortar establishments, you have to register to view the newest issue. To save you the hassle of confirming passwords, email addresses and whatnot, type in monscooch(at)gmail(dot)com and the password “Zoolander”.

They randomly chose to feature a recreation of Zoolander made entirely of Lego I made four years ago in NUI Galway (the only tenous reason for it’s mention) which I uploaded to YouTube just over a year ago. If you haven’t seen it, here it is. It’s not something I’m proud of now looking back but people still seem to love it. The piece itself is a whole load of waffle (much like the content of this blog, to be fair) and at least I had more column inches than Karl Spain. Yeah, take that Karly-boy. The observations made by the top journalist were pointed out in the comment section by people with idiotic handles such as keydawg13). The one small yet vital mistake I was slightly peeved about was him failing to give the address to the actual video. Travesty.

It seems my fame is moving backwards. I had a movie shown on ABC News, featured on RTE 2 for some reason, mentioned on the radio a couple of times and now, featured in a free local rag. Naturally, the next step would be a monthly newsletter to my family. Their favourite parts are the funnies. This one I wrote: “If Barbie is so popular, why do you have to buy her friends?”. Ah ha ha ha!!! Wait, that’s not funny at all…

Here’s a rather apt music video tribute dedicated to me: “You’re The Best” by Joe Esposito

[yotube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fWvub_WBho]

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I did a family newsletter for a few months when I was… probably 10 or so. More fun than it had any right to be. And I broke some major stories, I tell you what.

  2. Woohoo! Well done, fame boy!

    Just think, someday you’ll be so famous, someone might mention you on their blog.

  3. Eli: If I’m to be totally honest, I actually issued superhero comics. The lead character was called Captain Crud. It was essentially Batman but with a Top Hat.

    Darren: Pfft, those blogs you speak of will never catch on. Church Newsletters are where it’s at now.

  4. […] […]

  5. Pedro,

    I’m a big fan of that Zoolander lego video and it’s been in my youtube favourites for probably a year. I so didn’t cop it was you. Congratulations. I do remember Rick telling me ages ago he knew the person who made it.

    Anyway, what’s not to worship when it comes to lego stop-motion videos and Zoolander. I’ve spent days looking up lego stop-motion. My all time favourite one is the trailer for 300, I like it more than the film. And second fave is a really short and stupid one of Bohemian Rhapsody from Wayne’s World (this could be you too, I can’t remember or get into it now). It’s just really funny and cute when they head bang. And there’s a really good one of Ml Jackson’s Thriller but the quality is very bad.

    Blaithin

  6. That’s amazing, Blaithín. Thanks a million for the comment. I made the Bohemian Rhapsody one as well. If it’s really short and stupid then that’s me all over. My movies can be found here: http://www.youtube.com/user/PedroMonscooch

    To be honest, I’m not so proud of them anymore. I made them when I was very young and I know I could do some really crazy stuff now. I’m working on two music videos but there are many things that come up. I don’t know why I procrastinate so much. I know if I put my next video out now it would get a few million views and inevitably mentioned on Kanye West’s blog (aim high- that’s my motto).

  7. What are the new ones you’re working on? I can’t wait. I think it’s time for lego stop motion to take on you-tube classics. Have you seen Daft Bodies, with the two girls using words on their bodies along with Stronger Faster by Daft Punk, which in itself was inspired by Daft Hands, which is not so good. You could do a lego version of that. Or a lego version of Evolution of Dance, the highest-ranking youtube video since forever. Just checked and someone’s already done Evolution of Dance.

  8. […] finally made the big time. Sure, I’ve been mentioned in many different media places, some more impressive than others, but this takes the biscuit. If you go to this website called “Google” (the Irish word […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

